Mark Fewer, violin
Hank Knox, harpsichord

“... a brilliant and spirited performance of four of Johann Sebastian Bach’s six sonatas for violin and harpsichord ...”

— The Daily Courier


Mark Fewer and Hank Knox are well-known personalities in Canada. Both versatile musicians, they have performed throughout North America and are known for imparting a unique signature to their performances, offering fresh and exciting interpretation of works from the past. Their complete recording of the sonatas was released on LEAF records in 2017. The Vivaldi Manchester Sonatas were arranged and recorded by Fewer and Knox in May 2019 at Église St. Augustin in Mirabel (QC) and will be released on LEAF records in November 2019. This will be the first recording of the works by Canadian artists. 


In their concert entitled Bach intime, Mark Fewer and Hank Knox present  selections from the sonatas for violin and harpsichord by J.S. Bach. These intimate pieces, works of singular beauty, embody the genius of this iconic composer.  The programme is completed by works by Rameau and other composers of the period.

An important collection of sonatas for violin and continuo was discovered by Vivaldi scholar Michael Talbot in 1973 in the Manchester Public Library where they had languished for the better part of two centuries. The collection contains six sonatas unknown from other sources and two sonatas previously known from incomplete sources, adding significantly to our knowledge of Vivaldi’s writing for solo violin. A critical edition appeared in 1976, but the manuscript is remarkably clear and easy to read; there are a few obvious errors, but the overall quality of the manuscript is quite high.

This programme offers a sample of violin and harpsichord music of the 17th and 18th centuries with some of the greatest violin composers such as: Giovanni Mialli, Johann Sebastian Bach, Jean-Marie Leclair, and Jean-Fery Rebel. There is music for all tastes: from french dance music to Bach's polyphonic music.



“Fewer and Knox beautifully and brilliantly arrange Vivaldi’s lost masterpieces, making the 250 years worth the wait. And as the best music always does, will likely turn the ears of people who perhaps didn’t consider themselves fans of classical, and give them a glimpse of a world of art that had remained hidden, and was then brought back into the light.” 

—  Jeremy Thomas Gilmer,

January 2020


“Chamber Music Kelowna presented internationally renowned musicians, violinist Mark Fewer and harpsichordist Hank Knox in a brilliant and spirited performance of four of Johann Sebastian Bach’s six sonatas for violin and harpsichord on Friday evening.” 

—  Karen Krout,

February 2019


“And part of that joy stems from just how good the Fewer-Knox Duo is at realizing this music. Mark Fewer plays without a vibrato, with a deeply, sweetly centered intonation and a straightforward musical energy that Hank Knox seconds with conviction.” 

—  Grego Applegate Edwards,

March 2020





+1 514 276-2694


107, boul. St-Joseph West
Montreal (Quebec)
Canada  H2T 2P7



  • Latitude 45 Arts
  • White Instagram Icon
  • White Spotify Icon
  • Latitude 45 Arts
  • Latitude 45 Arts