Socalled chante Di Frosh

chansons Yiddish folkloriques

“À la fois, puissant, séduisant, mémorable et édifiant..”

— Dancing about architecture

  • Facebook
  • Instagram
  • Twitter
  • Grey Spotify Icon
  • Grey SoundCloud Icon
  • YouTube
  • Grey iTunes Icon
  • Grey Bandcamp Icon

Description

Socalled, « le sorcier du hip-hop yiddish », revient à ses origines avec Socalled chante Di Frosh, un programme à la fois déchirant et révolutionnaire. Accompagné d'un quatuor à cordes, ce programme comprend des chansons du théâtre Yiddish, des mélodies hassidiques, Klezmer, chansons folkloriques, des chansons de l’Holocauste, d’Israël et même des chansons originales.


À travers la chanson, notre riche histoire et culture peuvent être exposées et peuvent reprendre vie. Les arrangements de quatuor donnent à la musique le respect harmonique qu’elle mérite, un élément intégral et souvent négligé dans la présentation de ce matériel.

 

Ce spectacle est drôle, triste, beau et sombre, comprenant un éventail de styles, couleurs, tonalités, modes et atmosphères. La Renaissance yiddish est terminée, nous revoici en pleine Ère yiddish ; alors, creusons loin, célébrons et explorons les richesses de cette culture remarquable.

Télécharger la description complète

Représentation nord américaine gérée en collaboration avec MGAM.INC

Critiques

THE BAREFOOT REVIEW

 

“Le mariage de la voix avec le quatuor à cordes est profondément touchant. Urgence passionnée, les mouvements de va-et-vient dans la voix et la gesticulation vont de pair avec les cordes pincées vivement et les légers coups d'archet ajoutant un battement de coeur aux paroles dramariques, émouvante et pourtant clairement cérébrales.” 

—  David O’Brien,

June 2019

HIFI WAY

 

“Ces chansons ... sont un délice, introspectives, amusante et enlevante.” 

—  Bob Becker,

Juin 2019

SCENA MUSICALE

 

Di Frosh de Socalled semble prouver que la culture
yiddish vivante est là pour de bon.” 

—  Shira Gilbert,

Octobre 2018

Vidéos

L'album

Nouvelles

LATITUDE 45 ARTS

+1 514 276-2694

info@latitude45arts.com

107, boul. St-Joseph Ouest
Montréal (Québec)
Canada  H2T 2P7

MERCI AU SUPPORT

©2017 LATITUDE 45 ARTS. CRÉÉ PAR SATYA! COMMUNICATIONS

  • Latitude 45 Arts
  • White Instagram Icon
  • White Spotify Icon
  • Latitude 45 Arts
  • Latitude 45 Arts

Socalled Sings with Strings

yiddish folksongs

“Powerful, beguiling, haunting and uplifting all at the same time.”

— Dancing about architecture

  • Facebook
  • Instagram
  • Twitter
  • Grey Spotify Icon
  • Grey SoundCloud Icon
  • YouTube
  • Grey iTunes Icon
  • Grey Bandcamp Icon

Description

Socalled, “the mad wizard of Yiddish Hip-Hop”, goes back to his roots on his ground-breaking, heartbreaking program, Socalled sings Yiddish with Strings. Featuring a string quartet, the program presents songs from the Yiddish Theatre, Hassidic melodies, Klezmer, folksong, songs from the Holocaust, from Israel, and even some original new songs.


Through song, so much history and culture can be exposed and given new life. The quartet arrangements give the music the harmonic respect it deserves, an integral and often overlooked element in presenting this material.


The program is funny, sad, beautiful, and dark with a diverse range of styles, colours, keys, modes and moods. The Yiddish revival is over, it’s the Yiddish era again; so let’s dig deep, let’s celebrate and explore the riches of this extraordinary culture.

Download full description

North American Representation shared in collaboration with MGAM.INC

Reviews

THE BAREFOOT REVIEW

 

“The marriage of voice in performance with quartet arrangements is so profoundly affecting. Impassioned urgency, thrusting back and forth in voice and gesticulation is matched with vivid plucked strings and light bow strokes creating an added heart beat to the dramatic, emotional, yet clearly cerebral lyrics.” 

—  David O’Brien,

June 2019

HIFI WAY

 

“These songs ... are delightful, introspective, playful and uplifting.” 

—  Bob Becker,

June 2019

SCENA MUSICALE

 

“Socalled’s Di Frosh seems proof that the living,
breathing Yiddish culture is here to stay.” 

—  Shira Gilbert,

October 2018

Videos

The Album

News

LATITUDE 45 ARTS

+1 514 276-2694

info@latitude45arts.com

107, boul. St-Joseph West
Montreal (Quebec)
Canada  H2T 2P7

SUPPORTED BY

©2017 LATITUDE 45 ARTS. CREATED BY SATYA! COMMUNICATIONS

  • Latitude 45 Arts
  • White Instagram Icon
  • White Spotify Icon
  • Latitude 45 Arts
  • Latitude 45 Arts