The Dead

un opéra de chambre basé sur un histoire de James Joyce

“convenablement à part égale énigmatique et maginifique.”

— The Irish Examiner

  • Grey SoundCloud Icon

Description

Produit par The Performance Corporation, compagnie de théâtre et d’art applaudie par la critique, et par Breda Cashe, l’une des principales productrices irlandaises indépendantes, The Dead puise dans le riche flot de références musicales qui court d’un bout à l’autre de l’œuvre d’origine, nous entrainant dans un voyage à la fois gai et poignant d’exploration de la vie, de l’amour et de la mort. Ce très vif parcours musical du chef-d’œuvre de Joyce a su gagner les cœurs du public partout à travers l’Irlande, et est désormais prêt à être partagé par des spectateurs du monde entier.

Critiques

“« Tout cela est bien léché et stylé, et plus important que tout, amusant à regarder.” 

—  No More Workhorse

“C’est une œuvre des plus captivantes, qui accompagne l’action avec beaucoup d’à-propos… mélange de texte parlé, de récitatifs, de chansons populaires et de passages d’arioso, tissés à même des séquences permettant d’établir les atmosphères, qui reflètent à merveille le déroulement de l’histoire et qui la font avancer avec une remarquable maitrise... l’ensemble du projet s’est avéré un grand succès.” 

—  The Irish Examiner

“Ce nouvel opéra est, convenablement à part égale énigmatique et magnifique. En fait, l’heure passée en compagnie des interprètes qui occupent la scène est tellement captivante que vous aimeriez en passer toute une autre à revoir toute l’entreprise se dérouler à nouveau..” 

—  Opera

Vidéos

Nouvelles

LATITUDE 45 ARTS

+1 514 276-2694

info@latitude45arts.com

107, boul. St-Joseph Ouest
Montréal (Québec)
Canada  H2T 2P7

MERCI AU SUPPORT

©2017 LATITUDE 45 ARTS. CRÉÉ PAR SATYA! COMMUNICATIONS

  • Latitude 45 Arts
  • White Instagram Icon
  • White Spotify Icon
  • Latitude 45 Arts
  • Latitude 45 Arts

The Dead

a chamber opera based on the story by James Joyce

“appropriately enigmatic and beautiful in equal measure.”

— The Irish Examiner

  • Grey SoundCloud Icon

Description

Produced by critically acclaimed theatre and arts company, The Performance Corporation, and Breda Cashe, one of Ireland’s leading independent producers, The Dead taps into the deep vein of musical references running through original story, taking us on a journey which is at once playful and poignant, exploring life, love and death. This vivid musical telling of Joyce's masterpiece has won the hearts of audiences throughout Ireland, and is now available to share with audiences worldwide.

 

Acclaimed Irish composer Ellen Cranitch and award-winning playwright Tom Swift have created a pared back musical telling of Joyce’s classic story that is by turns theatrical, evocative and moving. Directed by Jo Mangan, four singers accompanied by a string quartet conjure the poignant atmosphere of a Christmas party inhabited by Joyce’s vibrant characters.

Reviews

“It is slick and stylish and most importantly fun to watch.” 

—  No More Workhorse

“This new opera is appropriately enigmatic and beautiful in equal measure. In fact, the hour or so spent in the company of the performers on stage is so captivating that you would relish a further hour to watch the whole affair unfurl again.” 

—  The Irish Examiner

“It is a most engaging composition and reflects the action with considerable acuity… a blend of spoken word, recitatives, popular songs and attractive arioso passages, woven through with mood-setting sequences, reflecting the story excellently and driving it forward with considerable expertise… the whole project proved a great success.” 

—  Opera

Videos

News

LATITUDE 45 ARTS

+1 514 276-2694

info@latitude45arts.com

107, boul. St-Joseph West
Montreal (Quebec)
Canada  H2T 2P7

SUPPORTED BY

©2017 LATITUDE 45 ARTS. CREATED BY SATYA! COMMUNICATIONS

  • Latitude 45 Arts
  • White Instagram Icon
  • White Spotify Icon
  • Latitude 45 Arts
  • Latitude 45 Arts