Hank Knox


“Hank Knox reveals virtuosity, imagination and a keen sense of rhythm.”

— Musica Sett (Italy)

  • Facebook
  • Instagram
  • Grey Spotify Icon
  • YouTube
  • Grey iTunes Icon


Hailed internationally for his “colorful, kinetic performances,” Hank Knox performs on harpsichord in concert halls, churches, museums, galleries and homes around the globe. A founding member of Montreal’s Arion Baroque Orchestra, with whom he has toured North and South America, Europe, and Japan, Knox also regularly performs and tours with Tafelmusik Baroque Orchestra, Les Violons du Roy and l’Orchestre symphonique de Montréal, among other groups, ensembles and orchestras.  

He has released a number of acclaimed recordings on rare antique instruments as well as copies of historical instruments. He teaches in the Early Music program at McGill University where he conducts the McGill Baroque Orchestra. He has directed a great number of Baroque operas for Opera McGill, including Purcell’s Dido and Aeneas, Monteverdi’s Poppea and Handel’s Agrippina, Giulio Cesare, Alcina and Rinaldo. 

Mark Fewer and Hank Knox collaborates regularly together. Their complete recording of the sonatas for violin and harpsichord by J.S. Bach was released on LEAF records in 2017. The Vivaldi Manchester Sonatas were arranged and recorded by Fewer and Knox and were released on LEAF in November 2019. This is the first recording of the works by Canadian artists. An upcoming solo album will be released in the upcoming seasons on LEAF Music. 

Download full bio

Programmes and projects

Hailed internationally for his “colorful, kinetic performances,” harpsichord player Hank Knox presents Cabinet of Curiosities - a selection of solo music for harpsichord ranging from Domenico Scarlatti to two of his most famous contemporaries: Jean-Philippe Rameau and Johann Sebastian Bach. This program showcases the flamboyant and virtuosic music of the Italian, French, and German baroque.

Learn more

In their concert entitled Bach intime, Mark Fewer and Hank Knox present  selections from the sonatas for violin and harpsichord by J.S. Bach. These intimate pieces, works of singular beauty, embody the genius of this iconic composer.  The programme is completed by works by Rameau and other composers of the period.

Learn more

An important collection of sonatas for violin and continuo was discovered by Vivaldi scholar Michael Talbot in 1973 in the Manchester Public Library where they had languished for the better part of two centuries. The collection contains six sonatas unknown from other sources and two sonatas previously known from incomplete sources, adding significantly to our knowledge of Vivaldi’s writing for solo violin. The Sonatas were arranged and recorded by Fewer and Knox in May 2019 at Église St. Augustin in Mirabel (QC) and will be released on LEAF records in November 2019.



“Knox’s harpsichord builds an elegant and large architecture for the arrangements, but his playing is alive, and there are moments when he seems to strike at the keys, elevating the bass and harmonics into a soundscape greater than what you expect from a single instrument. He goes from gentle stream to raging storm with utter control and elegance.” 

—  Jeremy Thomas Gilmer
January 2020


“His support is seamless enough to almost take it for granted. … His rich voicings and steady beat audibly spur Fewer’s creativity.” 

—  Andrew J. Sammut

Mai 2020



“One might assume a leading expert on Early Music to be esoteric. Hank Knox shatters this assumption..” 

—  Carol Xion
November 2018






+1 514 276-2694


107, boul. St-Joseph West
Montreal (Quebec)
Canada  H2T 2P7



  • Latitude 45 Arts
  • White Instagram Icon
  • White Spotify Icon
  • Latitude 45 Arts
  • Latitude 45 Arts