Mark Fewer

violon

“« Le style de leadership de Fewer est nettement d’avant-garde.”

— The Vancouver Sun

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Grey Spotify Icon
  • Grey SoundCloud Icon
  • Grey iTunes Icon

Biographie

Reconnu pour sa polyvalence exceptionnelle, le violoniste Mark Fewer a été décrit comme un «innovateur» (National Post), «intrépide» (Globe and Mail), «profond» (The WholeNote) et «follement bon» (The Gazette). Ayant été auparavant violon solo du Vancouver Symphony et St. Lawrence String Quartet, il est lauréat des prix Juno et Opus. Il est un animateur populaire de This is My Music sur CBC et fait l'objet d'un épisode de People Uncut sur Biography Channel.

Mark Fewer dirige des programmes avec orchestres simultanément en tant que soliste et chef d'orchestre, présentant une gamme vertigineuse de répertoire. Qu'il dirige les Quatre Saisons de Vivaldi qu’il a arrangé pour violon solo et orchestre avec des standards jazz emblématiques, ou qu'il dirige une symphonie de Mozart depuis le poste de premier violon, Mark Fewer ravit le public par son talent, son expertise musicale et sa facilité dans tous les genres. Parmi ses performances notables en tant que chef d'orchestre et soliste, on note celles avec I Musici de Montréal, Thirteen Strings d'Ottawa et l'Orchestre symphonique de Guelph.

 

Depuis octobre 2018, Mark Fewer occupe le poste de directeur artistique à Stratford Summer Music.

Télécharger la biographie complète

Programmes and projects

Mark Fewer dirige simultanément des programmes avec des orchestres en tant que soliste de violon et chef d'orchestre, avec une gamme vertigineuse de répertoire. Qu'il suive les Quatre Saisons de Vivaldi avec l'un de ses arrangements emblématiques des standards de jazz pour violon solo avec orchestre, ou qu'il dirige une symphonie de Mozart depuis le poste de premier violon, Mark Fewer ravit le public par son talent musical expert et sa facilité dans tous les genres. En tant que ‍un chef d'orchestre ‍il a dirigé ‍I ‍Musici ‍de ‍Montréal, ‍l'Orchestre ‍Symphonique ‍de ‍Laval, ‍le ‍New Newfoundland ‍Sinfonia, ‍le Guelph ‍Symphony, ‍le Vancouver Symphony, le McGill ‍Baroque ‍Orchestra ‍et le choeur  ‍Capella ‍Antica.

Mark Fewer et Hank Knox sont deux musiciens versatiles qui ont joué à travers l’Amérique du Nord et se démarquent par une interprétation nouvelle et excitante des oeuvres du passé, ce qui leur permet de donner une signature unique à leur performance. Leur enregistrement de l’ensemble des sonates pour violon de Bach est paru en 2017 sous l’étiquette LEAF records. Leur enregistrement de l’intégrale des sonates Manchester de Vivaldi, paru en novembre 2019 sur LEAF,  est le premier à être endisqué par des artistes canadiens.

 

En savoir plus

Critiques

EMA

 

“... which also displays Fewer’s natural way of integrating chordal stops into the melodic fabric. His ornamentation respects Vivaldi’s lyrical gifts and shares his own personality as a soloist.”

 

—  Andrew J. Sammut
Mai 2020
*À propos de l'enregistrement des Sonates Manchester de Vivaldi

Gapplegate Classical-Modern Music Review

 

“Mark Fewer plays without a vibrato, with a deeply, sweetly centered intonation and a straightforward musical energy...” 

—  Grego Applegate Edwards
Mars 2020

*À propos de l'enregistrement des Sonates Manchester de
 Vivaldi

The East Mag

 

“Fewer’s violin is the voice of the recordings, and his absolute precision makes space for a huge brightness and energy, balancing along beautifully with the landscape laid out by the Harpsichord.” 

—  Jeremy Thomas Gilmer
Janvier 2020

*À propos de l'enregistrement des Sonates Manchester de Vivaldi

Vidéos

Audio

Discographie

Nouvelles

LATITUDE 45 ARTS

+1 514 276-2694

info@latitude45arts.com

107, boul. St-Joseph Ouest
Montréal (Québec)
Canada  H2T 2P7

Merci à nos partenaires :

© 2019 LATITUDE 45 ARTS. CRÉÉ PAR GABRIEL RIOUX

  • Latitude 45 Arts
  • White Instagram Icon
  • White Spotify Icon
  • Latitude 45 Arts
  • Latitude 45 Arts

Mark Fewer

violin

“Fewer’s leadership style is distinctly forward thinking.”

— The Vancouver Sun

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Grey Spotify Icon
  • Grey SoundCloud Icon
  • Grey iTunes Icon

About Mark Fewer

Known for his exceptional versatility, violinist Mark Fewer has been described as “genre-bending” (National Post), “intrepid” (Globe and Mail), “profound” (The WholeNote) and “freaky good” (The Gazette). Formerly concertmaster of the Vancouver Symphony and violinist with the St Lawrence String Quartet, he is a Juno and Prix Opus winner, a popular host of CBC’s This is My Music, and is the subject of an episode of People Uncut on the Biography Channel. 


Mark Fewer leads programs with orchestras as violin soloist and conductor simultaneously, featuring a dizzying range of repertoire. Whether he is following Vivaldi's Four Seasons with one of his signature arrangements of jazz standards for violin solo with orchestra, or conducting a Mozart symphony from the concertmaster position, Mark Fewer delights audiences with his expert musicianship and ease in all genres. Notable performances as conductor/soloist include engagements with I Musici of Montreal, Ottawa's Thirteen Strings, and the Guelph Symphony Orchestra. 


Since October 2018, Mark Fewer is the Artistic Director of Stratford Summer Music.

Reconnu pour sa polyvalence exceptionnelle, le violoniste Mark Fewer a été décrit comme un «innovateur» (National Post), «intrépide» (Globe and Mail), «profond» (The WholeNote) et «follement bon» (The Gazette). Ayant été auparavant violon solo du Vancouver Symphony et St. Lawrence String Quartet, il est lauréat des prix Juno et Opus. Il est un animateur populaire de This is My Music sur CBC et fait l'objet d'un épisode de People Uncut sur Biography Channel. 


Mark Fewer dirige des programmes avec orchestres simultanément en tant que soliste et chef d'orchestre, présentant une gamme vertigineuse de répertoire. Qu'il dirige les Quatre Saisons de Vivaldi qu’il a arrangé pour violon solo et orchestre avec des standards jazz emblématiques, ou qu'il dirige une symphonie de Mozart depuis le poste de premier violon, Mark Fewer ravit le public par son talent, son expertise musicale et sa facilité dans tous les genres. Parmi ses performances notables en tant que chef d'orchestre et soliste, on note celles avec I Musici de Montréal, Thirteen Strings d'Ottawa et l'Orchestre symphonique de Guelph.


Depuis octobre 2018, Mark Fewer occupe le poste de directeur artistique à Stratford Summer Music.

Programmes and projects

Conducting

Mark Fewer leads programs with orchestras as violin soloist and conductor simultaneously, featuring a dizzying range of repertoire. Whether he is following Vivaldi's Four Seasons with one of his signature arrangements of jazz standards for violin solo with orchestra, or conducting a Mozart symphony from the concertmaster position, Mark Fewer delights audiences with his expert musicianship and ease in all genres. As ‍a ‍conductor ‍he ‍has ‍directed ‍I ‍Musici ‍de ‍Montreal, ‍l’Orchestre ‍Symphonique ‍de ‍Laval, ‍the ‍Newfoundland ‍Sinfonia, ‍Guelph ‍Symphony, ‍Vancouver ‍Symphony, ‍the ‍McGill ‍Baroque ‍Orchestra ‍and ‍the ‍choir ‍Capella ‍Antica.

Mark Fewer and Hank Knox, two well-known personalities in Canada, join forces in Heartstrings. Both versatile musicians, they have performed throughout North America and are known for bringing a unique signature to their performances, offering fresh and exciting interpretations of works from the past. Their complete recording of the sonatas for violin and harpsichord by J.S. Bach was released on LEAF records in 2017. The Vivaldi Manchester Sonatas were arranged and recorded by Fewer and Knox and were released on LEAF in November 2019. This is the first recording of the works by Canadian artists. 

Learn more

Reviews

EMA

 

“... which also displays Fewer’s natural way of integrating chordal stops into the melodic fabric. His ornamentation respects Vivaldi’s lyrical gifts and shares his own personality as a soloist.”

 

—  Andrew J. Sammut
May 2020
*About the Vivaldi Manchester Sonatas recording

Gapplegate Classical-Modern Music Review

 

“Mark Fewer plays without a vibrato, with a deeply, sweetly centered intonation and a straightforward musical energy...” 

—  Grego Applegate Edwards
March 2020

*About the Vivaldi Manchester Sonatas recording

The East Mag

 

“Fewer’s violin is the voice of the recordings, and his absolute precision makes space for a huge brightness and energy, balancing along beautifully with the landscape laid out by the Harpsichord.” 

—  Jeremy Thomas Gilmer
January 2020

*About the Vivaldi Manchester Sonatas recording

Videos

Audio

Discography

LM229_Cover.jpg
apple-music-logo.png
Spotify_Logo_CMYK_Black.png
coverbach.jpg
apple-music-logo.png
Spotify_Logo_CMYK_Black.png
ACD_71263_Fewer_antheil_800.jpg
apple-music-logo.png
Spotify_Logo_CMYK_Black.png

News