Carissa Klopoushak

violon

“Klopoushak dirige la gamme avec énergie et finesse. Elle a un son charnu et pulpeux, rythmé, l'honnêteté brute de sa musicalité tempérée par une virtuosité confiante.”

— Natasha Gauthier, Artsfile

Biographie

Carissa Klopoushak est l’une des artistes les plus versatiles à émerger ces années-ci sur la scène canadienne, et elle se considère chez elle d’un bout à l’autre du pays. Elle y a beaucoup tourné avec Debut Atlantic et en tant que co-lauréate, en 2009, avec le pianiste Philip Chiu, du Concours de musique national Eckhardt-Gramatté. Carissa a joué à l’Ottawa Chamberfest, au Festival de Musique de chambre de Montréal, et au Toronto Summer Music. Elle se produit avec plusieurs groupes de musique de chambre d’Ottawa et de Montréal, tels le tout nouveau Ironwood Quartet, l’Ensemble Mooncrest, le Warhol Dervish, et le Portmantô. Son premier album, SOUNDWORLDS, a été enregistré avec le pianist Philip Chiu.  Carissa joue sur un violon de Jean Baptiste Vuillaume (1851), gracieuseté de la banque d'instrument du Conseil des Arts du Canada.

Télécharger la biolgraphie complète

Programmes et projets

un récital avec Philip Chiu

La violoniste Carissa Klopoushak fait équipe avec le pianiste Philip Chiu, présentant des sonates de Janácek, Debussy, Willan et deux œuvres de Vivier et Carrabré.


« Trois œuvres canadiennes, un enregistrement en première mondiale - une musique de chambre magistralement interprétée, livrée avec chaleur et charme. Un programme intelligent - il est réfléchi, il est bien pensé, il est bien conçu - et il est magnifiquement exécuté. »

- Paolo Pietropaolo,
CBC Radio In Concert (janvier 2017)

avec Alexandru Sura, cimbalom


Carissa exécute un programme passionnant avec la star du cimbalom moldave Alexandru Sura, combinant de la musique folklorique d'Europe de l'Est (ukrainienne, roumaine, lautari) avec des pièces classiques d'inspiration folk, comme Tzigane de Ravel et les danses slaves de Bartok.


" Klopoushak, [...] a joué du violon et de l'alto, plusieurs types de flûtes et a chanté pour plusieurs pièces d'une voix riche qui correspondait à la musique ."


- Alex Binkley,

Apt613.ca (mars 2016)

avec Katherine Dowling, piano et Andrea Stewart, violoncelle


Le nom du trio est celui de la déesse slave de l'amour, de la beauté et de la protection qui gouverne l'été - et non le "citron" soviétique. La violoncelliste Andrea Stewart et la pianiste Katherine Dowling se joignent à Carissa pour jouer des oeuvres du vaste répertoire des trios avec piano, en se concentrant en particulier sur les œuvres de compositrices telles que Clara Schumann, Florence Price, Amy Beach, Dora Pejačević, Emily Mayer, Kaija Saariaho, Jennifer Higdon, Kelly- Marie Murphy, Anna Pidgorna et bien d'autres encore.

Critiques

“Klopoushak dirige la gamme avec énergie et finesse. Elle a un son charnu et pulpeux, rythmé, l'honnêteté brute de sa musicalité tempérée par une virtuosité confiante.” 

—  Paolo Pietropaolo,  
In Concert broadcast
Janvier 2017

ARTSFILE

“Klopoushak dirige la gamme avec énergie et finesse. Elle a un son charnu et pulpeux, rythmé, l'honnêteté brute de sa musicalité tempérée par une virtuosité confiante.” 

—  Natasha Gauthier

avec Katherine Dowling, piano


Carissa Klopoushak et Katherine Dowling offrent une sélection de programmes originaux explorant divers genres et régions, du romantisme de Brahms et Schumann aux styles d'Europe de l'Est de Janáček et Bartók, le paysage sonore nordique de Pärt et Sibelius, et bien plus encore.

Plus d'information

Vidéos

Audio

Discographie

Nouvelles

LATITUDE 45 ARTS

+1 514 276-2694

info@latitude45arts.com

107, boul. St-Joseph Ouest
Montréal (Québec)
Canada  H2T 2P7

MERCI AU SUPPORT

©2017 LATITUDE 45 ARTS. CRÉÉ PAR SATYA! COMMUNICATIONS

  • Latitude 45 Arts
  • White Instagram Icon
  • White Spotify Icon
  • Latitude 45 Arts
  • Latitude 45 Arts

Carissa Klopoushak

violin

“She has a meaty, luscious sound, rhythmically driven, the raw honesty of her musicality tempered by a confident, light-handed virtuosity.”

— Natasha Gauthier, Artsfile

Biography

Ottawa-based violinist Carissa Klopoushak has made a name for herself as a curious, creative, and versatile violinist.  A charismatic and engaging performer, Carissa's playing has been described as the complete package of sensitive musicianship and effortless technique. In addition to her solo appearances, she is co-founder of the Ritornello Chamber Music Festival, singer in the Ukrainian folk-rock band Tyt i Tam, and a part of the “take-no-prisoners” string quartet, Ironwood.  She released her debut album, SOUNDWORLDS, with pianist Philip Chiu. Carissa plays on a 1851 Jean Baptiste Vuillaume violin, generously on loan from the Canada Council for the Arts Instrument Bank. She plays with the National Arts Centre Orchestra and she has recently been named Interim Artistic Director of Ottawa Chamberfest, starting in that position in mid-August, 2020.

Download full bio

Programmes and projects

a recital with Philip Chiu
 

Violinist Carissa Klopoushak teams up with pianist Philip Chiu, showcasing sonatas by Janácek, Debussy, Willan, and two works by Vivier and Carrabré.


Three Canadian works, one world premiere recording - masterfully performed chamber music, delivered with warmth and charm. An intelligent program - it’s thoughtful, it’s well thought-out, it’s well put-together - and it’s beautifully performed..

 

— Paolo Pietropaolo,
CBC Radio In Concert (January 2017)

with Alexandru Sura, cimbalom 


Carissa performs a thrilling program with Moldavian cimbalom star Alexandru Sura, combining Eastern-European folk music (Ukrainian, Romanian, Lautari, and tunes that don't fit into just one box) with folk-inspired classical pieces, like Ravel's Tzigane and Bartok's Romanian Folk Dances.


"Klopoushak, [...] played both violin and viola, several types of flutes and sang for several pieces in a rich voice that matched the music." 


— Alex Binkley,

Apt613.ca (March 2016)

with Katherine Dowling, piano and Andrea Stewart, cello


The trio's name-sake is the Slavic Goddess Of Love, Beauty and Protection who rules the summer—not the Soviet "lemon." Cellist Andrea Stewart and pianist Katherine Dowling join Carissa to perform from the vast repertoire of piano trios, focusing especially on works by female composers including Clara Schumann, Florence Price, Amy Beach, Dora Pejačević, Emily Mayer, Kaija Saariaho, Jennifer Higdon, Kelly-Marie Murphy, Anna Pidgorna, and countless more.

Reviews

“[SOUNDWORLSD] is an intelligent program - it’s thoughtful, it’s well thought-out, it’s well put-together - and it’s beautifully performed..” 

—  Paolo Pietropaolo,  
In Concert broadcast
January 2017

ARTSFILE

“She has a meaty, luscious sound, rhythmically driven, the raw honesty of her musicality tempered by a confident, light-handed virtuosity.” 

—  Natasha Gauthier

with Katherine Dowling, piano


Carissa Klopoushak and Katherine Dowling offer a selection of original programs exploring diverse genres and regions, from the romanticism of Brahms and Schumann to the Eastern European stylings of Janáček and Bartók, the Northern soundscape of Pärt and Sibelius, and much more.  

More information

Videos

Audio

Discography

News

LATITUDE 45 ARTS

+1 514 276-2694

info@latitude45arts.com

107, boul. St-Joseph West
Montreal (Quebec)
Canada  H2T 2P7

SUPPORTED BY

 ©2019 LATITUDE 45 ARTS. CREATED BY GABRIEL RIOUX

  • Latitude 45 Arts
  • White Instagram Icon
  • White Spotify Icon
  • Latitude 45 Arts
  • Latitude 45 Arts