Handful of Films

Adaptation des documentaires primés de l'anthropologue et cinéaste
Niobe Thompson
pour concerts symphoniques

“The scientific equivalent of a creation story for humankind.”

— Globe and Mail

  • Facebook
  • Instagram
  • Grey Vimeo Icon

À Propos de Handful of Films

Fondé par le cinéaste et anthropologue Niobe Thompson, Handful of Films est une compagnie de production dont la mission est de créer des films uniques, divertissants et intemporels. Avec un engagement complet sur chacuns de leur projets, une passion pour le sujet et une expertise affutée, Handful of Films capture l'essence de l'expérience humaine, de l'évolution embrionaire de l'humanité, jusqu'à la complexité du monde moderne, intégrant des aspects dramatiques à leurs documentaires. 

Une sélection de documentaires de renommée internationale, lauréats de multiple prix-écran, ont été adaptés pour la salle de concert pour une présentation symphonique devant public. Avec le compositeur et chef d'orchestre, Darren Fung, et Niobe Thompson en tant qu'animateur et narrateur, Great Human Odyssey in Concert est présentement en tournée à travers l'Amérique du Nord et la première d'Equus in Concert aura lieu en 2021.

Films documentaires pour la scène du concert

Critiques

“The visual backdrop to this odyssey is gorgeous flowing footage, shots of real-life bushmen and reindeer herders, along with ancient scenes re-created from early artifacts. But science is the backbone.” 

—  EDMONTON JOURNAL / CALGARY HERALD
sur
 The Great Human Odyssey

“The scientific equivalent of a creation story for humankind.” 

—  THE GLOBE & MAIL 
sur
 The Great Human Odyssey

“Spectacular sequences… stunning visuals.” 

—  MARSHA LEDERMAN,
THE GLOBE & MAIL
sur The Great Human Odyssey

GHOIC show graphic.jpg

The Great Human Odyssey

 

Nominé aux Emmy Awards et lauréat d'un prix-écran canadien du “Best Science & Nature Documentary” et du “Best Original Music”, The Great Human Odyssey a été décrit par le Globe & Mail comme “à la fois un documentaire sur la nature et  oeuvre anthropologique... Superbe!” Après ses débuts sur CBC et PBS, le principal critique télévisuel canadien, John Doyle, a dit de la série qu'elle était “l'équivalent scientifique de l'histoire de la création de l'humanité...  géniale!”


Le voyage épique de l'anthropologue Niobe Thompson vers les voyages de l'humanité a été reconnu comme l'une des plus belles réalisations récentes en tant que documentaire sur la science et la nature. Une cinématographie spectaculaire, des aventures époustouflantes et une superbe partition musicale ont mené à plusieurs prix Écrans canadiens, à une nomination aux Emmy et à une diffusion télévisuelle dans 54 pays.

Offert pour les programmes des saisons à venir en Amérique du Nord. Des arrangements spéciaux peuvent pour produire le programme ailleurs qu'en Amérique du Nord.

Le concert est disponible en versions de 80 minutes (55 & 23 min) et 60 minutes (sans entracte); les parties de 60 minutes sont écrites avec des insertions de transitions, permettant une seule série de répétitions pour présenter les deux versions; la version de 60 minutes est également disponible en version familiale. 

Screenshot 2021-02-15 at 1.58.57 PM.png
Screenshot 2021-02-15 at 2.13.09 PM.png

Equus - The Story of The Horse

Une formidable performance, explorant notre incroyable relation avec le cheval, un lien qui a transformé notre monde. Thompson et Fung ont réimaginé la série télévisée en trois parties de CBC en un événement multimédia devant public avec chœur et orchestre.

Offert pour les programmes des saisons à venir en Amérique du Nord. Des arrangements spéciaux peuvent pour produire le programme ailleurs qu'en Amérique du Nord.

Le concert est disponible en versions de 80 minutes (55 & 23 min) et 60 minutes (sans entracte); les parties de 60 minutes sont écrites avec des insertions de transitions, permettant une seule série de répétitions pour présenter les deux versions; la version de 60 minutes est également disponible en version familiale. 

Screenshot 2021-02-15 at 2.20.20 PM.png

Vidéos

Discographie

Equus small square with title.JPG
Spotify_Logo_CMYK_Black.png
Spotify_Logo_CMYK_Black.png

Nouvelles

Handful of Films

Anthropologist and filmmaker
Niobe Thompson's
award-winning documentaries
for the concert stage with orchestra

“The scientific equivalent of a creation story for humankind.”

— Globe and Mail

  • Facebook
  • Instagram
  • Grey Vimeo Icon

About Handful of Films

Founded by filmmaker and anthropologist Niobe Thompson, Handful of Films is a Canadian production company devoted to creating unique, entertaining and timeless films. Coming to every project with complete commitment, a passion for the subject, and a deep well of experience, Handful of Films brings to life episodes in the human journey, from the evolutionary origins of humanity to the complexity of the modern world, in documentary and dramatic form.

A selection of international acclaimed documentaries, laureates of multiple screen awards, have been adapted to the concert stage for live performances with symphony orchestra. With composer and conductor Darren Fung and Niobe Thompson as host and narrator, Great Human Odyssey in Concert is currently touring in North America, and Equus In Concert will debut in 2021.

Documentary films for the concert stage

Reviews

“The visual backdrop to this odyssey is gorgeous flowing footage, shots of real-life bushmen and reindeer herders, along with ancient scenes re-created from early artifacts. But science is the backbone.” 

—  EDMONTON JOURNAL / CALGARY HERALD
on
 The Great Human Odyssey

“The scientific equivalent of a creation story for humankind.” 

—  THE GLOBE & MAIL 
on
 The Great Human Odyssey

“Spectacular sequences… stunning visuals.” 

—  MARSHA LEDERMAN,
THE GLOBE & MAIL
on The Great Human Odyssey

The Great Human Odyssey

 

Emmy Nominee and Canadian Screen Award winner of “Best Science & Nature Documentary” and “Best Original Music”, The Great Human Odyssey was described by the Canada’s Globe & Mail as “part eye-popping nature documentary, part anthropology… stunning!” After debuting on CBC and PBS, Canada’s leading television critic John Doyle called the series as “The scientific equivalent of a creation story for humankind… brilliant!”


Anthropologist Niobe Thompson's epic journey back to our human journeys has been recognized as one of the finest recent achievements in science and nature documentary. Spectacular cinematography, nail-biting adventures, and a gorgeous musical score led to multiple Canadian Screen Awards, an Emmy nomination, and prime-time broadcasts in 54 countries.

Available for booking for future program seasons in North America. By special arrangement, the program can travel outside North America.

Shows are available in versions of 80 minutes (55 & 23 min) and 60 minutes (no intermission); 60-minute parts are written with an inserted transition, to allow for one set of rehearsal for the two versions; 60-minute version also available as a family friendly version.

Equus - The Story of The Horse

A breathtaking new live performance, exploring our amazing partnership with the horse, a bond that transformed our world. Thompson and Fung have reimagined the three-part CBC television series as a live multimedia event for orchestra and choir.

Available for booking for future program seasons in North America. By special arrangement, the program can travel outside North America.

Shows are available in versions of 80 minutes (55 & 23 min) and 60 minutes (no intermission); 60-minute parts are written with an inserted transition, to allow for one set of rehearsal for the two versions; 60-minute version also available as a family friendly version.

Videos

Music

Equus small square with title.JPG
Spotify_Logo_CMYK_Black.png
Spotify_Logo_CMYK_Black.png

News

Posts Are Coming Soon
Stay tuned...

LATITUDE 45 ARTS

+1 514 276-2694

info@latitude45arts.com

107, boul. St-Joseph West
Montreal (Quebec)
Canada  H2T 2P7

SUPPORTED BY

 ©2019 LATITUDE 45 ARTS. CREATED BY GABRIEL RIOUX

  • Latitude 45 Arts
  • White Instagram Icon
  • White Spotify Icon
  • Latitude 45 Arts
  • Latitude 45 Arts