Profeti della Quinta

ensemble vocal
Doron Schleifer, contre-ténor
Roman Melish, contre-ténor
Lior Leibovici, ténor
Dan Dunkelblum, ténor
Elam Rotem, basse, clavecin & direction musicale 
Ori Harmelin, chitarrone

“L’on est constamment frappé par la qualité et l’homogénéité du son produit.”

— Classica

  • Facebook
  • Grey Spotify Icon
  • YouTube
  • Grey iTunes Icon

Biographie

L’ensemble Profeti della Quinta mise à créer des expériences vibrantes et expressives pour le public d’aujourd’hui tout en considérant les pratiques historiques dans leurs interprétations du répertoire des 16e et 17e siècles. L’ensemble formé de cinq chanteurs collabore régulièrement avec des instrumentistes et des chanteurs invités. Leurs programmes passent de l’exploration des madrigaux italiens aux rares chants sacrés juifs et plus encore.

En 2011, l’ensemble a gagné le premier prix au York Early Music Young Artist Competition et, depuis, s’est produit en Europe, à Israël, en Amérique du Nord, au Japon et en Chine. 

Profeti della Quinta a publié 10 albums sous les étiquettes Pan Classics, tiroler landes museen, Glossa et LINN. Le fondateur de l’ensemble, Elam Rotem, est également fondateur du site earlymusicsources, une ressource essentielle pour les recherches sur la musique ancienne et l’étude des manuscrits. Originaire de Galilée, l’ensemble est maintenant basé à Basel en Suisse où ils collaborent régulièrement à la Schola Cantorum. 

Télécharger la biolgraphie complète

Programmes et projets

Madrigaux et prières hébraïques de Salomone Rossi (c. 1570-1630)


Un programme faisant le portrait du compositeur italien juif mettant en valeur la variété de sa création musicale, comprenant des madrigaux italiens, de la musique instrumentale, ainsi que de la musique unique pour synaguogue sur des textes hébreux.

L'Histoire des madrigaux italiens


Le madrigal était le genre le plus important de musique vocale profane de la Renaissance et du début de l'aire Baroque. Ce programme suit l'évolution de cette forme allant de la polyphony expressive de Cipriano de Rore, jusqu'aux madrigaux révolutionnaires de Claudio Monteverdi qui ont façonnés l'aire Baroque.

Madrigaux et Motets de Luzzasco Luzzaschi (c.1545-1607)


Luzzaschi, quoique peu connu aujourd'hui, était en fait une figure centrale de la fin de la Rennaissance à la fois historiquement et musicalement. Ce programme explore la grande variété de ses oeuvres; madrigaux, motets, ainsi que des monodies et duos. 

Critiques

CLASSICA

 

“L’ensemble réussit des prodiges dans ce répertoire extrêmement exigeant. Les intonations des voix des chanteurs se fondent parfaitement, rendant la polyphonie avec toute la pureté et tout l’éclat qu’elle réclame. L’on est constamment frappé par la qualité et l’homogénéité du son produit.” 

—  Luca Dupont-Spirlo
Avril 2016

DIAPASON MAGAZINE

 

“Saluons cette excellente formation venue de Bâle et dirigée par Elam Rotem, qui glane dans l’ensemble de l’œuvre de ce compositeur fascinant, véritable icône de l’ « Avant-garde » d’autrefois.” 

—  Denis Morrier,
Mars 2016

Vidéos

Discographie

Nouvelles

LATITUDE 45 ARTS

+1 514 276-2694

info@latitude45arts.com

107, boul. St-Joseph Ouest
Montréal (Québec)
Canada  H2T 2P7

MERCI AU SUPPORT

©2017 LATITUDE 45 ARTS. CRÉÉ PAR SATYA! COMMUNICATIONS

  • Latitude 45 Arts
  • White Instagram Icon
  • White Spotify Icon
  • Latitude 45 Arts
  • Latitude 45 Arts

Profeti della Quinta

vocal ensemble
Doron Schleifer, countertenor
Roman Melish, countertenor
Lior Leibovici, tenor
Jacob Lawrence, tenor
Elam Rotem, bass, harpsichord & musical direction 
Ori Harmelin, chitarrone

“One is constantly struck by the quality and homogeneity of their sound.”

— Classica

  • Facebook
  • Grey Spotify Icon
  • YouTube
  • Grey iTunes Icon

Biography

Ensemble Profeti della Quinta focuses on the vocal repertoire of the 16th and early 17th centuries. They create vivid and expressive performances for audiences today while considering period performance practices. From its core of five male singers, the ensemble collaborates regularly with instrumentalists and guest singers. Their programmes range from explorations of the Italian madrigal to seldom-heard Jewish sacred music and more.

In 2011 the ensemble won the York Early Music Young Artists Competition, and has since performed in Europe, Israel, North-America, China and Japan. 

Profeti della Quinta has released 10 albums on the Pan Classics, tiroler landes museen, Glossa, and LINN labels. Profeti's founder, Elam Rotem, is also the founder of earlymusicsources.com, an essential resource for early music manuscripts and scholarship. Originally from the Galilee region of Israel, the group is now based in Basel, Switzzerland, where they regularly collaborate with the Schola Cantorum. 

Download full bio

Programmes and projects

Madrigals and Hebrew prayers by Salomone Rossi (c. 1570-1630)


A program portraying the Jewish Italian composer by highlighting the variety of his musical output, comprising Italian madrigals and instrumental music as well as unique Hebrew-texted music for the Synagogue.

The Story of the Italian Madrigal


The Madrigal was the most prominent genre of secular vocal music in the Renaissance and early Baroque. This program follows its evolution from the highly expressive polyphony of Cipriano de Rore, to the revolutionary madrigals by Claudio Monteverdi that shaped the Baroque era.

Highly virtuosic monodies and duets from the recently surfaced Carlo G. manuscript (ca. 1600-1620, Italy), presented alongside music of his contemporaries

Reviews

GENERAL-ANZEIGER

“When such highly-sensitive singers as those of Profeti della Quinta plunge into the music, the result is an interpretation which can be scarcely surpassed for its liveliness, performance intensity and joy in the musical details.” 

—  Guido Krawinkel,
September 2017

CLASSICA

 

“The ensemble does wonders with this highly demanding repertoire. The singers blend their voices with perfect intonation, rendering the polyphony with all the purity and radiance it requires. One is constantly struck by the quality and homogeneity of their sound.” 

—  Luca Dupont-Spirlo
April 2016

DIAPASON MAGAZINE

 

“We applaud the fine group from Basel, led by Elam Rotem, who samples the entire output of this fascinating composer, a true icon of the ‘Avant-garde of the past.” 

—  Denis Morrier,
March 2016

Videos

Discography

News

LATITUDE 45 ARTS

+1 514 276-2694

info@latitude45arts.com

107, boul. St-Joseph West
Montreal (Quebec)
Canada  H2T 2P7

SUPPORTED BY

 ©2019 LATITUDE 45 ARTS. CREATED BY GABRIEL RIOUX

  • Latitude 45 Arts
  • White Instagram Icon
  • White Spotify Icon
  • Latitude 45 Arts
  • Latitude 45 Arts