Jacques Kuba Séguin

jazz trumpet

“...one of our best jazz trumpet soloists.”

— A. Brunet, La Presse

  • Facebook
  • Instagram
  • Twitter
  • Grey Spotify Icon
  • Grey SoundCloud Icon
  • YouTube
  • Grey iTunes Icon
  • Grey Bandcamp Icon

About Jacques Kuba Séguin

Versatile and adventurous, trumpeter Jacques Kuba Séguin composes for his variable geometry groups, Odd lot, Litania projekt and the quintet Migrations, as well as writing for symphony orchestra. Séguin's repertoire is composed of melodic, explosive, complex but accessible tunes. As a performer, he has a certain sense of showmanship. He is recognized as one of the most brilliant trumpeters of his generation. 

Winner of the 2020 JUNO award for best jazz-solo album & of the 2020 FÉLIX award in the best jazz album category with his project MIGRATIONS as well as the 2012-2013 Radio-Canada JAZZ Revelation, Séguin is increasingly asserting himself on the national and international scene. 

His discography as a leader-composer includes 7 albums, all of which were recorded under the ODD SOUND label, a record company he founded and manages. In addition to producing and directing his albums, Jacques has hosted the program Symphonie en bleu on ICI Musique Classique, a program that bridges the gap between classical and jazz music. He is also the artistic director of the Jazz Crossing festival in the city of Zielona Góra, Poland, which brings together classical music and jazz.

Polyvalent et aventureux, le trompettiste Jacques Kuba Séguin, compose pour ses formations à géométrie variable, Odd lot, Litania projekt, en plus d'écrire pour orchestre symphonique. Le répertoire de Séguin est composé d’airs à la fois mélodiques, explosifs et accessibles. Interprète passionné, il possède une voix distincte et un charisme scénique indéniable. Il est reconnu comme l’un des plus brillants trompettistes de sa génération. 

Ayant reçu, pour son dernier album, Migrations, le JUNO 2020 du meilleur album jazz solo et le FÉLIX 2020 album jazz de l’année, en plus d’avoir été nommé Révélation Radio-Canada jazz 2012-2013, Séguin s’affirme sur la scène nationale et internationale avec ses projets depuis plus de quinze ans. 

Sa discographie comprend 7 albums, tous enregistrés sur ODD SOUND, une maison de disques qu’il a fondé et dirige. En plus de produire et réaliser ses albums, Jacques a animé à ICI Musique Symphonie en bleu, une émission qui fait le trait d’union entre la musique classique et la jazz. Il est également le directeur artistique de Jazz Crossing, un festival réunissant la musique classique et le jazz, à Zielona Góra en Pologne.

Programmes and projects


MiGRATIONS represents a form of jazz that will sound familiar to listeners, but also brings with it a renewed, free, personal, and uniquely emotional approach to the storied genre. It is a mosaic of compositions based on the life course of people from different cultural communities living or having immigrated to Quebec, Canada, blending stories and shedding light on the intermixing of cultures. Séguin's music is cinematographic, direct, dynamic and touching. His music invites us to a sensitive experience and, hopefully, a reflection on openness to others, an open mind-set that is lived through a genre based on listening and meeting: jazz

Learn more

Tech rider


Litania Projekt

jazz quartet with string quartet

Jacques Kuba Séguin, joined by Jim Doxas (drums), Jonathan Cayer (piano), and Frédéric Alarie (double bass), present the Litania Projekt. At times inspired by European jazz and at times drawing on classical music, Jacques Kuba Séguin composed works which unite these two universes. Halfway between improvisation and written music, this programme recalls cinematic images, creating a musical fresco that approaches melancholy without sinking into sadness. This programme is also offered in collaboration with the Bozzini String Quartet. 


Histoire d’un fleuve

The symphony Histoire d’un fleuve / Historia rzecki / History of a River for orchestra and jazz quartet is the second symphonic composition by Jacques Kuba Seguin.  The inspiration of this three-movement work comes from the stories of the different native peoples living on the shores of the great Saint Lawrence River in North America.

Learn more




““...one of our best jazz trumpet soloists.” 

—  A. Brunet


“... Seguin's dynamically sculpted sound that is cohesive, celebratory and anthemic.” 

—  D. McClenaghan


“...not a record simply for the sake of sticking seven or eight songs together : He considers, he consults, he conceptualises. Bravo! because the results are refreshing” 

—  G. Bourgault-Côté