Louise Bessette

piano

“Le secret d’une carrière aussi intense, c’est peut-être cette insouciance qui anime la pianiste Louise Bessette, toujours à la recherche de nouvelles idées pour mettre en valeur le répertoire contemporain.”

— Scena Musicale

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Grey Spotify Icon
  • YouTube
  • Grey iTunes Icon

À propos de Louise Bessette

An exhilarating and elegant concert pianist, Louise Bessette is recognized internationally as one of today’s preeminent interpreters of the music of our time. She has recorded most of the major works of Messiaen for solo piano as well as the music of Elliott Carter, Charles Ives, music on Spanish themes and tango and several CDs of chamber music including the works of Gubaidulina, Schnittke and Serge Arcuri. 


She possesses a unique combination of eclectic repertoire and impeccable delivery. Recipient of numerous prizes and awards, notably the Governor General's Performing Arts Award for her Lifetime Artistic Achievement, she is a champion of the music of our time. 


Current projects include her recital project A Piano around the World, featuring music from a diverse array of contemporary composers worldwide, Les Planètes, a multimedia performance of Walter Boudreau's work of the same name for iMax theatres and Planetariums, and her ongoing performances of the complete solo piano works of Messiaen.

Pianiste vivifiante et élégante, Louise Bessette est reconnue sur la scène internationale comme l’une des interprètes prédominantes de la musique des XXe et XXIe siècles. Elle a enregistré la plupart des œuvres majeures pour piano solo de Messiaen, d’Elliott Carter et de Charles Ives. On la retrouve aussi sur disque en tant que chambriste dans des œuvres de Gubaïdulina, Schnittke et Serge Arcuri. 


Ses projets récents incluent son récital Un piano autour du monde présentant la musique d’un large éventail d’œuvres de compositeurs du monde entier et de toutes les époques (disponible sur la plateforme circulation); Les Planètes de Walter Boudreau, une performance multimédia de l’artiste visuel Yan Breuleux pour Imax et Planétarium; ainsi que sa performance en continu des œuvres de Messiaen. 


Gagnante de nombreux prix, dont neuf Prix Opus et le prestigieux Prix du Gouverneur général pour les arts du spectacles de la réalisation artistique en 2019, elle est une figure marquante du monde musical de notre époque.

Programmes et projets

Un voyage musical sous les mains agiles de Louise Bessette, qui vous fera faire un tour du monde musical! La Chine, l’Australie, les États-Unis, le Canada, les Antilles Néerlandaises, le Brésil, l’Afrique du Sud, l’Espagne, la France, l’Italie, la Russie. Tous les continents sont représentés! Explorez les paysages sonores qui peuplent notre terre... et bon voyage avec Louise Bessette!

Avec le support des Guides de voyage Ulysse

Offert sur la plateforme Circulation de la musique du CQM

En 1940, au château de Grafeneck en Allemagne, 10,654 personnes handicapées ont été tuées dans la première chambre à gaz de type industriel de l’histoire. Grafeneck marque le premier pas sur le chemin qui mène à l’Holocauste.

Ce concert rend hommage aux victimes. Un devoir de mémoire, une façon de les faire revivre, mais aussi un devoir de lucidité au regard d’événements et de débats actuels.

Plus d'informations

Les Planètes est un concert immersif en format fulldome généré entièrement en temps réel. Il repose sur la création d’un piano-lumière, réalisé par l’artiste Yan Breuleux, permettant de dialoguer visuellement avec la performance de la pianiste Louise Bessette sur une nouvelle interprétation de l’œuvre Les Planètes du compositeur Walter Boudreau. 

Plus d'informations

Critiques

THE GLOBE AND MAIL

 

“Avec ses tournées à l'internationale, un rythme impressionnant et ne montrant aucun signe de ralentissement, Bessette est une figure indispensable pour la circulation de la musique canadienne à travers le monde.” 

—  Jenna Simeonov,

Avril 2019

SCENA MUSICALE

 

“Le secret d’une carrière aussi intense, c’est peut-être cette insouciance qui anime la pianiste Louise Bessette, toujours à la recherche de nouvelles idées pour mettre en valeur le répertoire contemporain.” 

—  Benjamin Goron,
Mars 2019

THE MUSICAL TIMES

 

“Son flair et son ingéniosité sont un délice.” 

—  Londres

Dans les années 80, Louise Bessette a été l’une des élèves de la grande pianiste Yvonne Loriod, la femme d’Olivier Messiaen. Seule pianiste canadienne dans le cercle de ses protégés, elle était affectueusement appelée par Loriod : ‘’ma fille canadienne’’.

La pianiste Louise Bessette, propose un programme qui fait le portrait de sa grande influence auprès des plus grands compositeurs québécois, canadiens et d'ailleurs. Ce programme musical audacieux trace le pont qui existe entre la grande tradition musicale française et de ce qui a découlé de l’enseignement de Messiaen sur le continent américain.

Plus d'informations

Vidéos

Audio

Nouvelles

Louise Bessette

piano

“The secret of such an intense career is perhaps Bessette’s enthusiasm. She is always on the lookout for new ways to promote contemporary repertoire.”

— Scena Musicale

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Grey Spotify Icon
  • YouTube
  • Grey iTunes Icon

Biography

An exhilarating and elegant concert pianist, Louise Bessette is recognized internationally as one of today’s preeminent interpreters of the music of our time. She has recorded most of the major works of Messiaen for solo piano as well as the music of Elliott Carter, Charles Ives, music on Spanish themes and tango and several CDs of chamber music including the works of Gubaidulina, Schnittke and Serge Arcuri.

She possesses a unique combination of eclectic repertoire and impeccable delivery. Recipient of numerous prizes and awards, notably the Governor General's Performing Arts Award for her Lifetime Artistic Achievement, she is a champion of the music of our time. 

Current projects include her recital project A Piano around the World, featuring music from a diverse array of contemporary composers worldwide, Les Planètes, a multimedia performance of Walter Boudreau's work of the same name for iMax theatres and Planetariums, and her ongoing performances of the complete solo piano works of Messiaen.

Download full bio

Programmes and projects

An exhilarating and elegant concert pianist, Louise Bessette is recognized internationally as one of today’s pre-eminent interpreters of the music of our time. In Escales, Louise guides the audience on a musical voyage around the world, through China, Japan, France, Canada, the United states, Benin, Brazil, Italy, Spain, Russia, and even the Antilles! Explore the sonic landscapes which make up our planet - and bon voyage! 

Supported by the Guides de voyage Ulysse

More info

10,654 mentally and physically handicapped people were murdered in the first gas chamber at Castle Grafeneck in Germany in 1940; an experimental project of the Nazi's murder machinery during the holocaust.

 

This concert pays homage to these victims. It seeks to rescue the memories of these people from oblivion, as well as to shed the lucid light of day on these events, to bring this history to our present-day conversation.

More info

Les Planètes features a full-dome immersive piano concert using a light-piano in real time to create audiovisual environments. In an extraordinary new visual and sound performance, Louise Bessette plays Walter Boudreau’s Les Planètes on the light-piano created by Yan Breuleux.

More info

Reviews

THE GLOBE AND MAIL

 

“With her international concert tours, impressively paced and showing no signs of slowing down, Bessette is an indispensable figure for the circulation of Canadian music around the globe.” 

—  Jenna Simeonov,

April 2019

SCENA MUSICALE

 

“The secret of such an intense career is perhaps Bessette’s enthusiasm. She is always on the lookout for new ways to promote contemporary repertoire.” 

—  Benjamin Goron,
March 2019

THE MUSICAL TIMES

 

“The flair and ingenuousness are a delight.” 

—  London

In the 1980s in Paris, pianist Louise Bessette was part of a select group of protégés of Yvonne Loriod, a pianist and wife of Messiaen. As the only woman in the group, Bessette was affeectionately called “ma fille canadienne” by Loriod.

Louise Bessette presents Messiaen and his Legacy, exploring Messiaen's influences on composers from Quebec, Canada. and elsewhere. This bold programme shows the connection that exists between the French musical tradition and the legacy of Messiaen’s teaching that has flourished on the American continent.

More info

Videos

Audio

Discography

Spotify_Logo_CMYK_Black.png

News

LATITUDE 45 ARTS

+1 514 276-2694

info@latitude45arts.com

107, boul. St-Joseph West
Montreal (Quebec)
Canada  H2T 2P7

SUPPORTED BY

©2017 LATITUDE 45 ARTS. CREATED BY SATYA! COMMUNICATIONS

  • Latitude 45 Arts
  • White Instagram Icon
  • White Spotify Icon
  • Latitude 45 Arts
  • Latitude 45 Arts