top of page
  • Dorothée Jourdain

Gabriela Ortiz in residency at Ojai Music Festival

We are very pleased to share that Gabriela Ortiz is the 2021 Resident Composer at the Ojai Music Festival. Her chamber works Huitzitl, Canto en soledad, Canto a hanna, Rió de las Mariposas and La Calaca will be featured in concert.

The Ojai Music Festival represents an ideal of adventurous, open-minded and open-hearted programming in the most beautiful and welcoming of settings, with audiences and artists to match its aspirations. As its 75th anniversary approaches, the Festival remains a hallmark for groundbreaking musical experiences with a narrative thread guided by a different music director. These annual directors are more than conductors, composers, soloists, or musicians. They are musical thinkers who approach their craft with creativity and responsibility to the present day.

For the 75th Festival – September 16-19, 2021 – composer and conductor John Adams takes the helm as music director.

Learn more here

Concert dates featuring works by Gabriela Ortiz

Ojai Mix – Prelude to a Festival 9/16/2021 | 9pm | Libbey Bowl

Miranda Cuckson, violin | Amy Schroeder, violin | Nathan Schram, viola | Anna Margules, recorder | Joanne Pearce Martin, piano | Vicki Ray, piano | Attacca Quartet

STRAVINSKY Elegie Gabriela ORTIZ Huitzitl Carlos SIMON Between Worlds Timo ANDRES Early to Rise Dylan MATTINGLY Magnolia Samuel ADAMS Violin Diptych Gabriella SMITH Maré

Ojai Dawns 9/18/2021 | 8am | Zalk Theatre, Besant Hill School

Anna Margules, recorder

Mario LAVISTA Ofrenda Gabriela ORTIZ Huitzitl Manuel ROCHA ITURBIDE Trama de tramas Arturo FUENTES Toro mariposa Gabriela ORTIZ Canto en soledad Alejandra HERNÁNDEZ Vuelos Gabriela ORTIZ. Canto a hanna

LA Phil New Music Group 9/19/2021 | 11am | Libbey Bowl

Emily Levin, harp | Julie Smith Phillips, harp | LA Phil New Music Group

Gabriela ORTIZ Rió de las Mariposas inti figgis-vizueta To give you form and breath John ADAMS Hallelujah Junction Esa-Pekka SALONEN Objets Trouvés First Concert Perfomance Dylan MATTINGLY Sunt Lacrimae Rerum (these are the tears of things) World Premiere / A co-commission of the Ojai Music Festival and the Los Angeles Philharmonic Association

Festival Finale 9/19/2021 | 5:30pm | Libbey Bowl

Carlos SIMON Fate Now Conquers MOZART Piano Concerto no. 24 K491 John ADAMS Am I in Your Light (from Dr Atomic) John ADAMS Consuelo’s Dream (from I was Looking at the Ceiling and Then I saw the sky) Gabriela ORTIZ La Calaca World Premiere of revised version

46 views0 comments


bottom of page